The hardest part about being gluten-free is removing foods and drinks from your diet that you once loved. Alcohol is a first for many people with celiac disease and it makes sense. 

But we’re here to tell you that even if you have gluten intolerance, you can still enjoy a nice alcoholic beverage. You might have some limitations on what you can drink, but those limitations are few. There’s no reason to sacrifice your Saturday nights! 

So what are the best gluten-free alcohol options? No need to look any further. We’ve made the process easy by listing 10 gluten-free alcohol options. 

Learn how Rancho la Gloria started!

Do Alcoholic Beverages Contain Gluten?

Most alcoholic beverages like wine and liquor do not contain gluten. There are some gluten-free beers as well. 

To label liquor as gluten-free, it must be pure distilled liquor, even if it comes from gluten-containing grains like wheat, barley, or rye. The fermentation and distillation process removes protein from the product assuming good manufacturing practices are followed. It’s possible to test alcohol for protein fragments, so the TTB (Alcohol Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau) can classify alcoholic products as gluten-free or not. 

For an alcoholic beverage to be gluten-free, the final product cannot contain any protein fragments. However, gluten can be introduced in other ways through flavorings and other additives.

Are Flavored Liquors Gluten-Free?

Flavored liquors can be a problem since it’s typically added after the final product. If you want to consume a flavored distilled liquor but aren’t sure if it contains gluten, your best option is to contact the manufacturing company. Only they can say for sure if there is gluten in the flavoring.

If you can’t contact the manufacturer, it’s best to stay away from flavored liquors. Instead, try the following gluten-free options listed below!

RELATED: What is agave wine?

To label liquor as gluten-free, it must be pure distilled liquor.

The Best Gluten-Free Alcohol Options

Now that we understand alcohol’s relationship with gluten, let’s get to the good stuff!

Rancho la Gloria’s ready-to-drink margaritas

a bottle of Rancho La Gloria' Strawberry margarita

All of Rancho la Gloria’s products are certified gluten-free! You don’t have to worry about any hidden flavorings, additives, or unnecessary sugars. So enjoy your evening with our famous bottled cocktails! From ready-to-drink margaritas to our famous frozen cocktail popsicles, the options are endless for gluten-free drinkers.

Rancho La Gloria – Lifestyle

Wine and Champagne

Wine comes from naturally gluten-free fruit. This includes roses and sparkling wines like prosecco and champagne. Red and white wines are also gluten-free and fortified wines like sherry, port, or vermouth. Wine of any kind can still come with flavorings, so be careful when shopping for wine. Read the labels, especially on sweet dessert wines. 


Cognac is a type of brandy that comes from white wine. Brewers must distill cognac twice and it has to age in oak barrels for a minimum of two years, but most brewers let it ferment for decades. Cognac is naturally gluten-free as long as it’s a pure-distilled Cognac. You don’t want to buy something with additional flavors. 

Hard Cider

Cider is a fermented fruit juice that comes from apples. Since fruit doesn’t contain gluten, hard cider is naturally gluten-free. However, for hard cider to be considered gluten-free, it needs to be true hard cider. Many brewing companies like to enhance the cider’s flavor by adding gluten-containing ingredients like sweeteners. It’s still worth checking the label on hard cider. 

Also, check if the cider was made in the same facility as gluten-containing beverages like beer.


Did you know that other vodkas are not grain-based? You can distill vodka from almost anything. An example is potato vodka. It would be best if you still did some research since breweries like to add flavorings to liquor. You could also try Tree Vodka, vodka that’s made from delicious apples. It’s all-natural and 100% gluten-free!

RELATED: This is how Rancho la Gloria began.


Rum comes from sugarcane molasses or sugarcane juice, so it’s a naturally gluten-free spirit. Bayou Rum is a nice option for a classic Louisianna-style flavor of rum. They create their rum using homegrown Louisiana sugarcane. You can also try Bacardi good ole Captain Morgan. Of course, always be on the lookout for added flavorings.


a couple of tequila shots

Pure distilled tequila made from the blue agave plant is considered gluten-free. Some tequilas or mezcals only contain 51% and are considered gluten-free. But it’s best to find 100% blue agave tequilas or mezcals, so you know they fall into the gluten-free category. Tarantula Azul tequila and El Padrino Blanco tequila are both made with 100% blue agave. 


Not all seltzers are gluten-free, so you want to make sure you find a brand that is. A few gluten-free seltzer companies include Arctic Chill, High Noon Sun Sips, and White Claw


Although it’s made from gluten-containing ingredients like wheat, barley, or rye, gin is gluten-free because of the distillation process. So you can still enjoy a gin and tonic. Just don’t consume flavored gins. Popular gins are Hendrick’s, Bombay Sapphire, and Tanqueray.


a glass filled with bourbon

Bourbon is another liquor made from wheat, barley, or rye, but the distillation process separates any proteins from the liquor, making it gluten-free. Sometimes rye is added to the “mash,” but that doesn’t change its gluten content. Popular bourbons are Jim Beam, Evan Williams, and Wild Turkey

RELATED: If it’s cocktail time, make it lively.

At Home With Rancho la Gloria Margaritas

We hope this list helps you choose a cocktail the next time you’re out. Being gluten-free doesn’t mean you have to give up all of your favorite drinks! 

At Rancho la Gloria, we want to make sure none of our customers are excluded. Our gluten-free products ensure you can enjoy yourself without worrying about your health. With six different flavors, you know that your options are anything but scarce. 

Want to know where you can find Rancho la Gloria? Use our location finder to pinpoint the closest spot.